airwaves

Police equipment and gear in here please!

does yours work

You may select 1 option

 
 
View results

User avatar
geordiepaul2005
Executive Officer
Executive Officer
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:09 am
Location: Up North

Post by geordiepaul2005 » Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:01 pm

I just wonder how he broke it to the customer!!

Their is also a guy in London that doesn't speak a word of English.
Each day before he goes out, they write letters for each of his customers, which he then presents when he knocks on the door.

He is one of the quickest engineers due to the fact that the customers cant communicate where they want everything put in the house - so he just puts it all in one place lol

Raz
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:54 pm
Location: PCSO

Post by Raz » Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:32 pm

Esox wrote:Can't say I'm surprised to hear you are having problems with Airwaves ...they are run by NTL LOL :lol:
blackspot
NTL....I thought it was 02 Airwaves? http://www.airwaveservice.co.uk/

User avatar
r_brotheridge
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:05 am
Location: Birmingham

Post by r_brotheridge » Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:40 pm

it is indeed, they've made a pretty penny from it as well.

overall i'd say it's a reliable system, it will be even better once ambo and fire get on board, so we can contact them directly.

User avatar
Esox
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: London

Post by Esox » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:19 pm

Is it O2 now I was sure it was NTL when launched???
Chris

COME ON YOU IRONS!!!!

User avatar
POCA
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:46 pm

Post by POCA » Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:48 pm

As far as I'm aware it's always been O2.

User avatar
sueb
Committee Member
Committee Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 8:26 am

Post by sueb » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:27 pm

airwaves hase been o2 since i started at least cos that wat we were told in training it was an o2 provider.

the phone always works on mine but my signal drops out every now and then when im in an airwave black spot which they are trying to combat now by reducing the size of the antener things so we've been told.

apparently they are upgrading the service which may take some time and waiting on our half.

but all in all a very good service were we are.

User avatar
abdi1234
Committee Member
Committee Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 6:39 pm
Location: London

Post by abdi1234 » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:42 pm

Airwave works fine now on our borough but there were a fair few teething problems at the start.

Problems
-New emergency button system sucks, hold down for 3 seconds and then press the pressel. Yeah right as if you are going to have chance to do that, it should revert to the original way, one press 1 second and no pressel leaving your hands free to defend.
-Earpiece is pooh, no good for public order events such as football or Notting Hill. Far to quiet.

Strengths.
-All the channels and connectivity to all bouroughs and soon all forces.
-Telephone function is excellent for contacting informants etc.

Future
-GPS tracker, once online people will be able to find you if things go wrong. Help show up those who are lazy and hiding.

mj12cz
Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Posts: 2009
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: lincs

Post by mj12cz » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:58 pm

No always good when rural, lots of black spots where all you get is a Boing Boing :shock:
"Its a mother beautiful bridge and its going to be there"

Save the cheer leader, save the world.....

People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.
George Orwell

User avatar
Headset 57
Elite Legion
Elite Legion
Posts: 1817
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:29 pm

Post by Headset 57 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:52 am

BTP ( MPS / CLP ) will have more coverage downstairs from later on this year:


http://www.tfl.gov.uk/tfl/press-centre/ ... ?prID=1054
'You can always find a Question for an Answer
But you can't always find an Answer for a Question'

User avatar
PCSO Mickyboy
Elite Member
Elite Member
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Cambs

Post by PCSO Mickyboy » Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:36 am

what a muppet :lol:

My Radio is good never as played up on me but when it rains i just sound like i have my head in the bucket of water but they are good radios though.

User avatar
burl
Registered Member
Registered Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:01 pm
Location: Sussex

Post by burl » Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:09 pm

If I try to use Telephone option , it always says no signal! Voice mail etc a disaster
KISMET
Burl

User avatar
daveyboy
Registered Member
Registered Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: North Derbyshire

Post by daveyboy » Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:56 pm

well mine worked till i posted on here sayin mine worked. then it snowed really heavy and i think my radio got 2 wet and used 3 batteries in one shift so its gone for repair!!
12th October 05 - Special with Derbyshire,
15th October 06 resign as a Special
16th October 06 Police Community Support Officer
28th August 07 started as Police Constable in Derbyshire!!!

User avatar
Lieutenant fatman
Counsellor
Counsellor
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 5:17 pm
Class: 'Paladin'
Location: England

Post by Lieutenant fatman » Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:45 am

Mine seems ok thus far, but I do wish they would have invested more time in making sure all the ludricous bugs were ironed out before issuing us with them.

Anyway they seem to be doing the job at the moment, but we are not 'Live with them yet'. We shall see just how good they are soon I am sure. I'm not too worried about them.

User avatar
Esox
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 7:04 pm
Location: London

Post by Esox » Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:55 am

Lieutenant fatman wrote:Mine seems ok thus far, but I do wish they would have invested more time in making sure all the ludricous bugs were ironed out before issuing us with them.

Anyway they seem to be doing the job at the moment, but we are not 'Live with them yet'. We shall see just how good they are soon I am sure. I'm not too worried about them.
The only way to find all bugs is to have them in use so they are used in all circumstances..........I'm sure they did all they could before issuing.

They did tell PCs to carry the old met radio still as well at first!!
Chris

COME ON YOU IRONS!!!!

Grinner_82
Official Member
Official Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:32 pm
Location: I am lost

Post by Grinner_82 » Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:08 pm

Have just been trained in the airwave radio, we were all very impressed. The panic button is just a single 1 second hold to give 8 secs of open airwaves.
Today we did a point to point with to avon and sommerset force to prove it worked!
very impressive, will see hope it works in operational duties!

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic