Where's the role going?

PCSO stuff ONLY: Burning issues, high profile questions or cases that have been highlighted in national or local news, let's talk about them IN HERE! A link to the item would be great where possible.

Moderator: national-PCSOs

JEA
Executive Member
Executive Member

Where's the role going?

Post by JEA » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:19 pm

I'm new to the role of PCSO and did a lot of research in to it before applying. Most of it has turned out to be government propoganda. I thought it was a good idea, a fantastic way of improving community safety at a local level while offering good value for money to the tax payer.

However, since joining and speaking to the longer serving PCSO's, I've noticed that the role is constantly evolving, and not allways in a good way.

For instance, PCSO's in my force are now being given the task of installing domestic violence alarms. Why? Our force has a positive arrest policy with DV, to remove pressure for the victim, a good idea. It is therefore a no-no for PCSO's to get involved with DV in my force, again a good idea. So then why, possibly hours after the incident, are we going to fit a DV alarm while the offender is still at large? We're also not technicians. I know there are instructions, but I had to fit one the other day with another PCSO. The house was a maze of telephone extension cables, some working, some not. Some with broadband filters, some without. I've studdied Electronic Systems Engineering, but my collegue hasn't. I hardly felt comfortable installing it, never mind if my collegue had been on their own. After all, a person's life could depend on this alarm. I can only come to the conclusion that the DV unit thought "PCSO's are supposed to be freeing up our time, let's get them to do it". Either that or it's cheaper for us to do it rather than a technician.